Blast from the Past

Day 4: Memories

My earliest childhood memory dates back to my very first trip outside the country. I was four and we were visiting Lebanon. If you are unfamiliar, Lebanon is a small country located east of the Mediterranean sea. Did you know that Lebanon is the only country in the Middle East without a desert? Well now you know. 

We were hiking through Saninne. The trail surrounded by beautiful foliage, and mountains  left and right, the air was cool and calming. There was even snow at the very peeks. It was not very long before we reached our resting spot. I was surrounded by my mom, aunt, uncles, and cousins. Most of us kids really wanted to play games. We were enjoying the fresh air, the view and the family time. Despite being hungry food wasn’t our prioriy, hanging out together was. As the younger members of the family played ball, the older members prepped the barbecue and set the table. 

Yes I said barbecue, ’cause you know we carry those around everywhere.

After the meal, I remember distinctly how my mom carried over a watermelon to some running water that seeped through a crack in the mountain. She was aware of how cold the water was and the logic behind letting it soak the melon was to cool it. Needless to say, this water was so cold, it split the juicy melon in half. If I hadn’t seen it happen, I swear the thing looked like it had been smashed open with a hammer.

Best day ever.

Author: Bee

I'm perplexed, sassy, and unusually sarcastic.

Leave a Reply

